Change is in the air

So.  I have to present for journal club tomorrow on a subject that is not my area of expertise.  I’ll be presenting an article on titantium dioxide, a nanoparticle that is an emerging contaminant, found in sunscreens, cosmetics, sporting goods, stain-resistant clothing, tires, electronics, and medicine.  Needless to say, aside from witty commentary and sparkly powerpoint animations, I’ve been trying to think of a way to distract from my obvious lack of expertise.  And then I realized: FOOD!  Food is an excellent distraction for most people, and if it’s not a distraction, at least they’ll be sugar high and too happy to point out my erroneous citations or flawed thinking.  I’ve also been pinning about 10 different pumpkin recipes a day since October started, and have already bought 6 cans of pumpkin since the official first day of fall.   I ended up picking Pumpkin Nutella Bread, because I thought it was finger-friendly and appropriate for a mid-morning snack.  I also love this blogging duo, and have found that all their recipes are foodie-tested, boyfriend-approved. 

Image

So they came out of the oven, and of course I had to try one to make sure it could knock their socks off and render them defenseless against my scientific brilliance.  Well, the first time could have been a fluke, so I had to try again.  Heck, I’m a scientist, so why not just try them in triplicate?

Needless to say, their power has been fully tested.  I surrendered completely, sliced a huge piece, plunked a dollop of ice cream on top, and enjoyed it properly.  Mmmm.  Heavenly.Image

I am definitely making these again.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I bought two pie pumpkins last week at a pumpkin farm and I’m planning on baking them and getting the pulp for a recipe. I might have to make this. Tim and I reflect on our time in Germany this summer and all the Nutella we ate for breakfast everyday like you can’t buy it at ANY grocery store here… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

